Digital transformation to fight COVID-19 

through public and private partnership

An initiative by Estonia and the United Arab Emirates to bring the world’s governments and businesses together to share some of the world’s best digital solutions which can help confront the complex challenges posed by COVID-19.

Opening ceremony

GBS e-Governance, Cyber Security and Education

Health and Food Technology

Smart Mobility and Logistics, Finance and Manufacturing

What is the Global Business Summit?

The Summit is an initiative by Estonia and the United Arab Emirates to bring the world’s governments and businesses together to digitally transform the new reality we live in today. It is an opportunity for participating UN Member States to showcases their most innovative digital solutions in the fight against COVID-19. The Global Business Summit is a virtual live event which will begin with an opening ceremony followed by summit sector events (e-Health, e-Education, e-Governance & Cybersecurity, Agriculture, Smart Cities & Logistics, Finance & Manufacturing). Tune in to watch the countries experiences first hand and to see videos of digital transformation and the possibilities it creates from across the world.

What is the aim of the Global Business Summit?

The aim of the Global Business Summit is to continue down the path started with the Global Declaration on the Digital Response to COVID-19, launched on 1 July 2020 by Estonia and Singapore. The Global Business Summit transforms the digital response into practice with the contribution of the business community. The objective is for governments and businesses around the world to propose real solutions to the challenges that COVID-19 has posed to global community.

Participating countries

Andorra
Azerbaijan
Austria
Belgium
Canada
Colombia
Croatia
Finland
France
Ghana
Hungary
Ireland
Israel
Japan
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Latvia
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Mauritius
Monaco
Namibia
Poland
Romania
Russia
Serbia
Seychelles
Singapore
Slovakia
Slovenia
Spain
Sri Lanka
The United
Arab
Emirates
Trinidad &
Tobago
Turkey
Uganda
USA
Uzbekistan
Estonia

Co-hosts of Global
Business Summit 2020

His Excellency,

Mr. Urmas Reinsalu

Minister of Foreign Affairs,
Estonia
His Highness,

Sheikh Abdullah bin
Zayed Al Nahyan

Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation,
The United Arab Emirates

Timeline and List of Speakers

SUMMIT OPENING CEREMONY:

Time zone: GMT (UTC+0) (14:00 Tallinn time, 16:00 Abu Dhabi time, 07:00 New York time) All times are estimates

12:00

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS BY MODERATOR
Mr. Linnar Viik, Co-Founder of e-Governance Academy

12:05

CO-HOST KEYNOTE SPEECH, ESTONIA
H.E. Urmas Reinsalu, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Estonia

12:15

CO-HOST KEYNOTE SPEECH, The United Arab Emirates
H.H. Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

12:25

KEYNOTE SESSION on Global Outlook in the Light of COVID-19
Rt. Hon Tony Blair, Executive Chairman of the Tony Blair Institute for Global Change and former Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

12:50

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – The Importance of Public-Private Partnership
Mr. Taavi Kotka, IT Visionary, Former Chief Information Officer of Estonia

13:00

Estonia Top Digital Solution – VaccineGuard by GuardTime
Mr. Siim Sikkut, Chief Information Officer of Estonia

13:05

The UAE Top Digital Solution
Digital Dubai EXPO 2020

SUMMIT SECTOR EVENTS:

e-Governance, Cyber Security and Education

Time zone: GMT (UTC+0) (15:10 Tallinn time, 17:10 Abu Dhabi time, 08:10 New York time) All times are estimates

13:10

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS BY MODERATOR
Mr. Linnar Viik, Co-Founder of e-Governance Academy

13:15

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – e-Governance & Cyber Security
President Toomas Hendrik Ilves, Former President of Estonia

13:25

COUNTRY PRESENTATIONS on e-Governance and Cyber Security

Sri Lanka, Namibia, Andorra, Japan, Seychelles, Uganda, Spain, Estonia, The United Arab Emirates, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan, USA, Mauritius, Slovenia, Lithuania, Kyrgyzstan, Monaco, Belgium, Hungary, Croatia

15:00

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – Education in the Light of COVID-19

Ms. Charlotte Petri Gornitzka, Deputy Executive Director of Partnerships, UNICEF

15:10

COUNTRY PRESENTATIONS on Education
The United Arab Emirates, Estonia, Slovakia

Smart Mobility & Logistics and Finance & Manufacturing

Time zone: GMT (UTC+0) (17:30 Tallinn time, 19:30 Abu Dhabi time, 10:30 New York time) All times are estimates

15:30

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS BY MODERATOR
Mr. Linnar Viik, Co-Founder of e-Governance Academy

15:30

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – Smart Mobility & Logistics
H.E. Sultan Ahmed bin Sulayem, Group Chairman and CEO, DP World

15:40

COUNTRY PRESENTATIONS on Smart Mobility & Logistics

Estonia, The United Arab Emirates, Russia, Israel

16:00

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – Finance and Manufacturing
H.E. Abdulnasser Alshaali, Assistant Minister for Economic and Trade Affairs at Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, UAE

16:10

COUNTRY PRESENTATIONS on Finance and Manufacturing

Jordan, Serbia, The United Arab Emirates, Estonia

Health and Food Technology

Time zone: GMT (UTC+0) (18:35 Tallinn time, 20:35 Abu Dhabi time, 11:35 New York time) All times estimates

16:35

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS BY MODERATOR
Ms. Ester Eomois, Expert in Healthcare and Leadership. Viveo Health and EBS

16:40

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – Global Outlook on Health
Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, Director-General of the World Health Organization

16:45

COUNTRY PRESENTATIONS on Health

Singapore, Canada, Austria, Estonia, Ireland, Kuwait, Poland, France, Finland, The United Arab Emirates, Latvia, Ghana, Turkey, Luxembourg

18:00

COUNTRY PRESENTATIONS on Food Technology
Trinidad & Tobago, Colombia, The United Arab Emirates, Estonia, Romania

18:25

CLOSING OF EVENT
Ms. Ester Eomois, Expert in Healthcare and Leadership. Viveo Health and EBS

The 6 Key Sectors of the
Global Business Summit:

e-Health

Digital health solutions can improve the speed and quality of medical help to patients and facilitate the provision of medical services while reducing the need for face-to-face contact between doctor and patient.

e-Education

Digital solutions in education can improve the access to quality education, facilitate communication between teachers, students and parents and create a better learning environment especially in times of crisis.

e-Governance & Cyber Security

Digital solutions can bring the state closer to its citizens, increase the flexibility and cost-efficiency of governance and ensure the continuation of key public services in times of crisis. Having a secure cyberspace is crucial for effective e-Governance, as the amount of cybercrimes tends to rise in times of crisis.

e-Agriculture & Food Technology

Digital technologies enhance agriculture practices, improve food production and distribution, and increase food safety.

Smart Mobility & Logistics

With urbanisation being one of the clearest global trends, every country needs to be able to manage their cities with intelligent transportation systems and continuous urban planning. Smarter border-crossing solutions are also key in facilitating the efficiency of trade and travel between countries.

Finance & Manufacturing

Financial services accessible online is key for citizens and businesses at all times, in crisis or not. Digital solutions in manufacturing speed up production, increase margins and safety while freeing up time for innovation. Manufacturing must continue even during crises, thus digitalising key areas of production is crucial.

The Global Business Summit was

16 December, 2020 at 12:00 GMT
Days
Hours
Minutes
Reach out to us at globalsummit@mfa.ee
#globalbusinesssummit2020 #GBS2020